• Overview

    The Department was founded in 1919-1920 and at the beginning it was situated in Wilhelms Castle as a part of Poznan University. In 1933 the Department was relocated to its present location in Collegium Chemicum, a former National Fair Complex.

    Shortly after the turmoil of war in 1950 Poznan University of Medical Sciences was separated from Poznan University and the Department became one of the first units of the newly formed University. From the beginning, it was one of the first departments of the Faculty of Pharmacy.

    Over the years name of the Department was changed several times. To confront present trends in 2005 the Pharmacy Practice Division was established. The current head of the Department is the fifth running this unit in its long history.